My Outreachy Internship Experience

My Outreachy Internship Experience

About

My name is Souad. I am a Full stack software developer from Morocco. graduated with a bachelors degree in distributed computer systems from the Faculty of science and technologies of Marrakech.

after graduation i got my third baby👶 so I decided to dedicate 3 or 4 years for my little child over my career, for me being available for my kids during their first age was crucial since we didn't have the possibility to work remotely, then last year I decided to get back so I started by refreshing my coding knowledge, I googled about the most in demand technologies since tech industry i knowing a big revolution and is changing continuously, so I found that the best is to learn React and Python. so I spent 3 or 4 months learning from different platforms and practicing by building projects, then when i felt i was ready, i started applying locally for jobs, I was passing successfuly all technical interviews but when it comes to behiavioral ones once the recruiter knows that i have kids the overal mode of the recruiter changes and all question are about availability 10 hours a day and working during lunch time ... and not about quality of work or how productive i can be, so I started learning about remote work and applied to Microverse "an online international school that teaches software development using remote pair programming" i was accepted 🎉, then started my full-time, 10-month program, to develop my technical skills, build projects, and improve the soft skills needed to excel in remote teams.

I applied to Outreachy in Febrery 2022 and yay! was accepted as an Outreachy intern with unstructured.studio Team. In this blog I will be sharing my Outreachy experience and documenting my path to remote Full stack software developer career, share few useful tips , technologies, thoughts. You can contact me via my social links.

Â