Everybody Struggles

My first weeks as an outreachy intern

Everybody Struggles

No pain No gain? yes absolutely true, after 3 weeks in my internship at Otreachy as a Full stack we developer intern at unstructured.studio on their open source ZubHub web app, I experienced being incapable, lost, don't know where to start from "in other words overwhelmed by the impostor syndrome", and experienced making the task done and getting compliments about my potential from my mentors.

For the first week of my internship i was expecting to be given a list of requirements with all conceptual and technical specifications and my task to be building a new feature based on those specifications, but that wasn't the case i got surprised by my mentors telling us "me and the 2 other interns working on separate features" that the first task is to set the new features requirements and to create mock ups of the views with design and technical specifications , i was surprised and didn't know where to start from the first 2 or 3 days i was lost, each decision i took leads to a different scenario and asking my self which one should i keep, I asked for more clarifications so i was given some links to get inspiration from and one of the mentors told us that all we need to do is to sit down spend time analyzing existing features, and listing expectations from the perspective of a user then come back to them with different possible solutions and suggestions.

so i spent time analyzing and thinking about different possibilities and looking for what can be better for me as a user and based on all those notes i started creating my mock ups on figma and added my comments to specify why i opted for an approach and to share different suggestions with my mentors.

the surprise is that they appreciated my efforts and even mentioned that i have the potential to be a good designer 🤩, so from this short period i learned that the best way to make a good and big contribution to open software is first by understanding the core value and goal of that product then think as an owner of it and look for what the end users would love to have and how to provide a best experience for them.